Frequently asked questions

It’s our first video, where do we start?

To fully understand how we operate from start to finish, take a look at our process. Now that you understand the steps, you can contact us and tell us about your project. Add all the details that you think could help us help you, your idea, schedule, budget, etc. We will then get back to you shortly with additional questions and we can then start the work.

What format do you use

As a general rule, we use Full HD 1080p format. So 1920 per 1080 pixels with a ratio of 16:9.

Although generally appropriate, many other formats may be used. Instagram, for example, popularized the use of the square format (1:1). We will adapt the video to your message and the customers you are trying to reach.

Unless we have different indications, we’ll export your final video in two versions:

  • An H.264 version to be streamed (Facebook, Youtube, Instagram, Vimeo, etc.)
  • An uncompressed version in Quicktime ProRess 422.

How long will this take?

Production times may vary according to different variables; our availability and yours, the length and complexity of the project, etc. That being said, relying on our average, we can say that for a video around 45 seconds to 1 minute 30, we can usually produce everything in 4 to 8 weeks from the beginning of the project. This includes screenwriting, storyboarding, illustration, animation, and sound design.

At the beginning of the project, we discuss possible delivery dates with you and propose a detailed schedule of the various delivery steps.

What kind of video style do you specialize in?

Each project is unique and we are open to working on any type of motion design and animation project. Nevertheless, some types of projects are more often requested:

1) Advertising and explainer videos

Most of the videos we produce are used to explain or sell a product. Whether it is a software, an event, or a physical item, motion Design is an effective approach to introducing, explaining and selling your product to a new clientele.

2) Public service anoucements

Not all messages aim at selling. The goal is often to explain to a certain population a new idea, a new law, prevention tips, etc.

3) E-learning

E-learning is an effective tool for companies that want to train their employees efficiently and progressively. Although most of our e-learning projects remain private, we have had the chance to work on various large-scale projects for companies such as Bombardier, (Rosemont College)[https://www.crosemont.qc.ca/accueil] and IOM, the UN migration unit.

Do you shoot live action?

We don’t film live action ourselves, but we do collaborate with various companies to meet the requirements of our different projects. If your video requires filming, we will find a solution tailored to your needs.

How much does it cost?

Once again, there are many variables that come into play; the duration and content of the video, the visual style, the narration, and techniques used, etc. With this nuance made, $ 5,000 is usually a good starting point. We usually use a level categorization system for our estimates:

Level 1

$

Very simple and minimal visuals and animation. The content is presented visually using simple icons and texts. The animation includes is made of subtle moves and highlights. This approach is not suggested for advertising. On the other hand, it can be an interesting avenue for e-learning videos where a lot of content has to be animated.


Level 2

$$

Using a basic visual language and graphics. The concepts are represented by simple illustrations, pictograms, diagrams, and icons. The animation includes animations of patterns, ripples, dynamic transitions, slight character movements. Minimal use of sound effects and optional narration.

Example: Ville de Montréal


Level 3

$$$

Use of a more advanced visual language, characters, and 2D environments. The animation style includes more realistic camera movements, complex interactions with characters, dialogues as needed. The sound design is tailor-made for the video.

Examples: Brûlure bactérienne / MSP Prévention


Level 4

$$$$

Sky’s the limit. Use of complex illustrations and environments, complete characters and walking cycles, multiple levels of light, integration of 3D elements. We can use traditional animation and mix various styles of graphic design. Audio includes a complex custom soundtrack and dialogue of characters, etc.

Question fréquentes

C’est notre première vidéo, par où on commence?

Pour bien comprendre le notre façon de fonctionner du début à la fin, jetez un oeil à notre processus. Maintenant que vous comprenez bien les étapes, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter et parlez-nous de votre projet. Ajoutez tous les détails qui pourraient nous aider, votre idée, calendrier, budget, etc. Nous vous reviendront ensuite rapidement avec des questions additionnelles et nous pourrons ensuite commencer le travail.

Quel est le format utilisé?

Règle générale, nous utilisons les dimensions Full HD 1080p. Soit 1920 pixels de largeur par 1080 de hauteur. C’est un ratio de 16:9.

Bien que généralement approprié, d’autres formats peuvent être utilisés. La diffusion sur Instagram, par exemple, a popularisé l’utilisation du format carré (1:1). Nous adapterons la vidéo à votre message et à la clientèle que vous cherchez à rejoindre.

À moins d’indications contraires, nous exportons votre vidéo finale en deux versions :

  • Une version en H.264 pour être utilisées en streaming (Facebook, Youtube, Instagram, Vimeo, etc.)
  • Une version très haute qualité en Quicktime ProRes 422 afin que vous puissiez l’utiliser dans du contenu qui devrait être à nouveau compressé.

Combien de temps ça prendra?

Les temps de production peuvent varier selon différentes variables; nos disponibilités et les vôtres, la longueur et la complexité du projet, etc. Ceci étant dit, en nous fiant à notre moyenne, nous pouvons dire que pour un vidéo aux alentours de 45 secondes à 1 minute 30, nous pouvons généralement produire le tout en 4 à 8 semaines à partir du début du projet. Ceci comprend la période de scénarisation, de storyboarding, d’illustration, d’animation et de conception sonore.

En début de projet nous discutons avec vous des dates possible de livraison et vous proposons un calendrier détaillé des différents étapes de livraison.

Dans quel domaine de vidéo spécialisez-vous?

Chaque projet est unique et nous sommes ouverts à travailler sur tout type de projet de motion design et d’animation. Néanmoins, certains types de projets, nous sont plus souvent demandés.

1) Publicités et vidéos explicatives

La plus grande partie des vidéos que nous produisons sert à expliquer ou vendre un produit. Que ce soit un logiciel, un évènement ou un item physique, le motion design est une approche efficace pour introduire, expliquer et vendre votre produit à une nouvelle clientèle.

2) Campagnes de sensibilisation

Tous les messages ne servent pas à vendre. Le but est souvent de sensibiliser une certaine population à une idée, une nouvelle loi, des informations aidant à la prévention, etc.

3) E-learning

Le e-learning, ou apprentissage en ligne, est un outil efficace pour les entreprises qui désirent former leur employés de façon efficace et progressive. Bien que la plupart de nos projet de e-learning demeurent privés, nous avons eu la chance de travailler sur différents projets d’envergure pour des entreprises telles que Bombardier, le Collège de Rosemont et IOM, l’unité de migration de l’ONU.

Faites-vous du tournage?

Nous ne faisons pas directement de tournage, mais nous collaborons avec différentes entreprises afin de répondre aux exigences de nos différents projets. Si votre vidéo demande du tournage, nous trouverons une solution adaptée à vos besoins.

Combien ça coûte?

Une fois de plus, il y a beaucoup de variables qui entrent en ligne de compte; la durée et le contenu de la vidéo, le style visuel et les techniques utilisées, la narration, etc. Cette nuance étant faite, 5000$ est habituellement un bon point de départ. Nous utilisons habituellement un système de catégorisation en niveaux pour nos vidéos à estimer.

Niveau 1

$

Utilisation de visuel et d’animation très simple et minimal. Le contenu est présenté visuellement à l’aide d’icônes simples et de textes. L’animation comprend des apparitions et des mises en évidences. Cette approche n’est pas suggérée dans la cadre de publicité. Par contre, elle peut être une avenue intéressante dans le cadre de vidéos de e-learning dans lesquelles une grande quantité de contenu doit être animée.


Niveau 2

$$

Utilisation d’un langage visuel et de graphisme assez basique. Les concepts sont représentées par des illustrations simples, des pictogrammes, des schémas et des icônes. L’animation comprend des animations de motifs, ondulations, transitions dynamiques, légers mouvements de personnage. Utilisation minimale d’effets sonores et narration facultative.

Exemple : Ville de Montréal


Niveau 3

$$$

Utilisation d’un langage visuel plus avancé, de personnages et d’environnements 2D. L’animation comprends des mouvements de caméra plus réalistes, des interactions complexes avec personnages, de dialogues au besoin. La trame sonore est développée sur mesure pour la vidéo.

Exemples : Brûlure bactérienne / MSP Prévention


Niveau 4

$$$$

Sky’s the limit. Utilisation d’illustrations et d’environnements complexes, de personnages complets et de cycles de marche, plusieurs niveaux de lumière, intégration d’éléments 3D. Recherche graphique poussée et potentiel emploi d’animation traditionnelle. Trame sonore complexe et dialogue de personnages, etc.